Hon'ble Justice S.S. Chauhan

Hon’ble Justice S.S.Chauhan, joined as Chairperson, Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission, New Delhi on the forenoon of 05.07.2018. Born on 05.07.1956 in Unnao District of UP, he studied Law at Lucknow University and thereafter started practice as an Advocate in the High Court of Allahabad and its Bench at Lucknow from 14.07.1979. The matters he dealt with, inter alia, were Service, Criminal, Constitutional, Consolidation, Excise and Company matters.
During his distinguished career as a Legal Counsel, he worked as :

1. Special Counsel for State Election Commission and Chandra Shekhar Azad University, Kanpur
2. As an Additional Advocate General of UP from 23.9.2003 and argued many important cases

In 2005 he was elevated as Hon’ble Judge, High Court of Allahabad, Lucknow Bench – an acknowledgement of his commitment, professional excellence and legal acumen. As Hon’ble Judge, High Court he pronounced judgements on many important issues, which were as varied as: Service, Consolidation, Revenue, Criminal, Recovery, Excise and Company matters.

Briefly put, he decided many :

  • matters of service relating to seniority in promotion, dismissal from service and other allied issues arising out of reservation in promotion and some of the cases relating to appointment under the Dying-in-Harness Rules;
  • matters relating to appointment and promotion of Judicial Officers and army officers/officials;
  • matters relating to consolidation, land acquisition, ceiling, rent control etc.;
  • miscellaneous matters relating to mining, Committee of Management; Co-operative Society;
  • matters relating to Indian Partnership Act;
  • not only the civil matters, but also decided the criminal matters relating to Section 319 Cr.P.C., 482, 439 including criminal appeals and issues relating to violation of Electricity Act 2003
  • matters relating to Company Act;
  • criminal appeals under Sections 306, 376, 498A, 304B IPC and DP Act including quashing of FIR;
  • matters of constitutional importance: Election petitions relating to Members of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assembly.